I am Proof of Thom's Claim About American Schooling

13 posts / 0 new

Last Thursday Thom brought up the idea that American high school students don't learn about modern American history such as the Vietnam War. I would like to back that up by saying that I graduated from a high school that is ranked in the top 30 high schools in Illinois. Although I learned about American history three times before I graduated high school (5th, 8th, and 10th grade), I did not learn about any thing after World War II. We may have skimmed over a few topics in the last week of school but nothing was seriously taught. I think part of this is because the teachers take it for granted that many of them lived through these events and don't realize the kids they are teaching don't have the slightest idea about the. I think it is rather sad that this is the current state of American education.

-Eric

ozolato's picture
ozolato

Comments

Apparently high school sludents don't study Civics or current events either. The idea that young people are interested in what is going on around them other that the "immediate pleasures" causes me to suspect that Vietnam becomes some place on a map that they have yet discover. In fact the BP thing, or the Haiti thing for that matter, are there because they see it in between the other things they watch on the television, when they watch television.

The other issue is that tea baggers and other activist neo-cons may have the kind of pressure on school boards that affect how things are taught. That means a teacher who deals with the recent past, or, Vietnam, might have a hard time with a school board member who "wants his job". Reminds me of the McCarthy days when a teacher offered a debate on the merits of Communism vs Capitalism and told us right out, that this could get him in trouble.