Nuclear Power - Are Your Views Justfied by the Facts?

21 posts / 0 new
Last post
c.prato
c.prato's picture

Hi Thom and friends,

I'd like to preface this by saying that I'm about as progressive as they come. I believe in single payer health care, breaking up the big banks, oil companies, media companies, and financial institutions. And I've been listening to Thom for over 3 years. Keep up the the good work Thom!

What I want to address is the topic of nuclear power. I, like many of you, have been anti-nuclear my whole life. What do we do with the waste? What about weapons proliferation? What about catastrophic accidents?

Well these problems have been aknowledged by the nuclear industry and have been largely resolved. It's true. And because of this, my opinion on nuclear power has changed. And I'm not the only progressive who thinks nuclear power has to be part of a solution to get to a zero carbon economy. 

Please take the time to read the remainder of this post:

Displacing coal plants is hard because they are really cheap (since the utilities are not assessed of their pollution), they can be built anywhere where water is available (all thermal power plants, fossil or nuclear, have to be able to get rid of excess heat), and because they provide power 24x7. That's why every week to 10 days, another coal-fired power plant opens somewhere in China that is big enough to serve all the households in Dallas or San Diego.

Getting rid of them is hard. Even with all the awareness about the harm of coal plants to the environment in the US, we have been unsuccessful in displacing them. Today, we still get 49% of our electric power from coal plants. If we can't displace coal plants in the US, how can we expect other countries, like China, to displace their coal plants?