Vietnam and Afghanistan

13 posts / 0 new

As a Vietnam Vet, I remember how Generals like Westmoreland lied to justify an unnecessary war -- it's happening again in Afghanistan!

proud.liberal's picture
proud.liberal

Comments

Yeah, because trying to stop the Genocide of the Khmer Rouge and Chinese expansionism was completely unjustified. :eyeroll:

You do realize that it was Nixon and Nixon alone who prevented a peaceful resolution of vietnam in 1968, right?

KevinConner's picture
KevinConner

Like Nixon,like Bush letting 9/11 happen.We pull the plug on Vietnam,we have to pull the plug on these "Bogeyman-Wars". We have a ruling class in the world that makes evil looks good.

tayl44's picture
tayl44

tay - afghanistan isn't a boogey-man war. There's an actual legitimate reason to be there:

We're there for the same reason as NATO - to stabilize the Pakistan Afghanistan border and secure the trans-asian pipeline. India was already placing troops at the Pakistan/India border, threatening to cross over if Pakistan couldn't protect the pipeline.

KevinConner's picture
KevinConner

Vietnam, i learn to stop drinking the cool aid.Terrorism is the bogeyman to destroy three countries to control their wealth.Some people never learn! Thank God,most of us do,otherwise we wouldn`t be here!

tayl44's picture
tayl44

Kennedy got is into Vietnam

Obama got us into Afghanistan

Who will get us out of there?

public pressure

brother's picture
brother
Quote tayl44:

Vietnam, i learn to stop drinking the cool aid.Terrorism is the bogeyman to destroy three countries to control their wealth.Some people never learn! Thank God,most of us do,otherwise we wouldn`t be here!

The pipeline has been repeatedly attacked since the treaty was first established in the 90s. It's an actual threat. What part of that is hard for you to grasp?

KevinConner's picture
KevinConner