A message to Thom - one fan's concern

4 posts / 0 new

Thom, I’ve been listening to you for about six years now. I’ve read some of your books and most of your writings on Common Dreams and I regularly watch your various TV programs.

I’m not sure if what I’m noticing is one’s natural reaction to the extreme rightward direction in which our public discourse is moving, but I have to take issue with your inability to allow others to have a say or present their ideas.

I understand that you are an intelligent and well read individual. I also understand that a large chunk of your audience is also intelligent and well read. So lately, when you’ve shot down legitimate ideas just because they are not in lock-step with your ideas or when you’ve talked over callers who are trying to present their argument or when you jump to conclusions and start a rant without even listening to what a caller has to say, I feel like you’re starting to sound (in tone anyway) like a right-wing bully!

Unlike the right-wing bullies, your ideas and opinions are well thought out. Unlike the right-wing bullies, you form your ideas and opinions based on facts. Unlike the right-wing bullies, you are almost always correct! But just like the right-wing bullies, your demeanor is often that of an infallible zealot - one who shouldn’t be questioned, one who doesn’t allow others to make their point, one who presumes he knows everyone’s position and begins to argue before actually listening.

With all that's going on in the USA and around the world, I know this isn't that important. But as a fan, Thom, this has bothered me as of late. But it's just one fan’s opinion.

Keep up the good work!!!

PJProgressive's picture
PJProgressive

Comments

I agree. After all, the number one reason that I listen to call in talk radio is to here a multitude of diverse opinions and ideas. If I wanted to listen to a one sided conversation I would listen to Rush, Hanity, or my old lady!