Standardized testing in schools

4 posts / 0 new

I have been a teacher in the public school for the last twenty five years. I have always prided myself on doing what is best and providing the safest and most conducive environment for my kids ---- one that encourages critical thinking and reasoning, good and pointed questioning, leanring and practicing skills that will help make them better thinkers, doers, and citizens. I love what I do and am good at it!

The last ten years have worn on me, as I have seen the adverse effects of standardized testing, and how it has negatively impacted instruction and curriculum. We invest almost four weeks total, testing kids in the areas of math, scinece, writing, and reading. And more and more and time is spent in the classroom simply drilling and practicing for the test, ignoring those "other" things that aren't tested. I no longer have the time or inclination to work with my students on things like debate, drama and theater arts, rhetoric and oratory. At the beginning of this school year I spoke to my building administrator. lamenting the lack of time spent on social studies and American History. I was aghast when she responded, "If its not tested, don't teach it."