Obamacare non-compliance penalty is ethereal says Lawrence O'Donnell!

6 posts / 0 new

Thom, you should know that Lawrence O'Donnell has been describing the "tax penalty" for people who choose to forgo buying health care insurance has NO TEETH! The bills framers specifically says that if people refuse to voluntarily pay the penalty they is no mechanism to collect it - and it won't be deduct from their tax return either! The bill specifically says 1] no criminal penalty or sanction may be imposed, and 2] no civil penalty or sanction may be imposed either. Please correct the misconception of your last interviewee. Thanks ~Ed

Ed Chainey's picture
Ed Chainey

Comments

I'm by no means an expert on this, like Thom, however, I am in the middle of reading the 193 page decision from the SC and I believe that the Statute states that anyone choosing not to purchase medical insurance will be required to pay a "penalty" or "tax" to the IRS. This tax is collected by the IRS through normal means of taxation and as everyone knows, the IRS is not shy about seeking payment.

VCruz27's picture
VCruz27

I'm like you folks and everyone else, still sorting this out. I saw a "small business owner" talking about this the other day. His take was that, as an example, 60 employees the fine was $750.00 per year, per employee. Simple assessment, no fines, no crimes, IRS applies it to your tax return = 45 thou. Can you insure 60 employees for $45,000? Little man loses again?

mjolnir's picture
mjolnir

OK, sort out why taxpayers in modern democracies with government funded health care pay less for better results than we do. If your complaint is that "Obamacare" is a repackaged Heritage Foundation invention test run as "Romneycare," and that it is a give-away to private health insurance--a notorious no value added entitlement rip-off--then come on over to the Single Payer tent.