Secure voting technology IS possible

7 posts / 0 new

Love your show Thom. I've been a listener/viewer for years along with the other prog heroes like Big Eddie, Rachel etc.

I would quibble with your statement earlier today that it is impossible to have a secure voting technology. I have almost 40 years of experience in computer technology (last 30 years as a full-time professional software engineer, developer, consultant and educator) and it IS in fact possible. The problem with current voting technologies (the term "technologies" encompassing computer hardware, software, networking and data communication contexts) is a lack of expertise and thoroughness in their creation - in addition to the very real possibilities of purposeful corruption as you have been discussing on your show today (7/12/2012) as a consequence of it being done by a private (not to mention right-leaning) company.

I, as a SINGLE software developer, could architect, design and develop a voting technology that would be virtually impregnable and impossible to "game". I have actually thought on this topic ever since the presidential election was stolen in 2000, and the recent results in Wisconsin look mighty fishy to me. I would be glad to have further correspondence with you about the details concerning secure voting technology (which of course become pretty technical but I am good at explaining highly technical subjects to non-technical peeps).

Sincerely, Warren

stillrockin77's picture
stillrockin77

Comments

Why don't we stick with something we can see and touch? Paper ballots, stones, etc.

chilidog

I am real old school here. Paper ballots and pencils. Ballots counted by hand and eye and kept for any requested audit. With people watching each other, it works. If people are conspiring together, finding ways to stuff the ballot box or cheat is hard to stop.