Trustworthy Source of Information

On July 23, 2016, we discontinued our forums. We ask our members to please join us in our new community site, The Hartmann Report. Please note that you will have to register a new account on The Hartmann Report.

5 posts / 0 new

Hello,

I am new to politics. I have been listing to Thom since October. Before that I wasn't too into politics. I was 18 during the Gore-Bush election and lost all interest when the election was stolen. Then Obama came along and I got fired up again, only to lose interest when the movement came to a crashing halt.

Now that I have been listening to Thom, I am getting fired up again. Bernie Sanders joining the race put me over the top. Today for the first time ever I called congress. Felt really good to take action and participate.

Anyway, I am at the point now where I want to learn more about what going on. I especially want to educate myself about the various agendas of the republican candidates. So where do I start? What is a good trustworthy source I can mine to figure out what actually going on and what all of the flowery speech means. The way politicians jump from metaphor, to the story of a little girl from Any-town USA, to a very short and cryptic sentence about immigration, or tax reform can be very hard to follow for the new to politics and the un-informed.

I appreciate any help and advise in my quest to inform myself and then others around me of what is really going on and what it is politicians are actually saying.

Thanks,

Bailtron.

Bailtron's picture
Bailtron

Comments

If you want less bombastic rhetoric and more thoughtful conservative perspectives read Krauthammer, listen to Michael medved. Another good source is Dave Ramsey, he is more personal finance but it gives you a solid understanding through real life examples in how the conservative philosophy plays out in the real world.

For a good understanding of the liberal perspective read Paul Krugman and of course Thom.