Thought +Language

On July 23, 2016, we discontinued our forums. We ask our members to please join us in our new community site, The Hartmann Report. Please note that you will have to register a new account on The Hartmann Report.

116 posts / 0 new

I am still reading Wittgenstein, albeit an intro level and it's fascinating. Antifacist, ren, and I touched on him within anti's 'Neoliberalism is touching us all' thread awhile back.

He teaches 'thinking about thinking', a derogatory comment on our thread by an outside observer was once made in exactly that phrase.

He is positing thoughts as a sort of ephemeral/metaphysical entity, they don't exist, they just are. That sent some zen triggers in my mind, but I'm still a student. Anyhow we have:

and the investigations are more than enough, Tractatus is supposedly indecipherable, though I have not tried. (a new bucket list entry for me, I think)
  • The language link is required to express your own thoughts, though maybe there is no language to express said thoughts, just a generality. Some things have no words to describe or explain them, but clusterfuck is broad enough for some experiences.
  • I think that's why metaphors are so handy.
  • btw, my source is John Heaton:

Wittgenstein and Psychoanalysis 15, 2000
    by John Heaton
    Paperback
    $2.77used & new(28 offers)

Introducing Wittgenstein 5, 2001
    by John Heaton and Judy Groves
    Paperback
    $1.63used & new(41 offers)
    See newer edition of this book
    3.3 out of 5 stars 6

FassifernNov 24, 2013
    by John Heaton
    Kindle Edition
    $0.00
    Subscribers read for free.Learn more.
    $2.99to buy
    Auto-delivered wirelessly

• douglaslee's picture
    douglaslee

Comments

Republican Neoliberalism is Touching Us All. Started May 30, 2010 in reference to the Gulf Oil Spill Catastrophe and all that goes with it. 1,544 replies, 83,634 views.

Last post, June 13, 2015

.ren's picture
    .ren

By the way, this thought crossed my mind: